Following voting for the positions of Chapter Chair, Deputy Chapter Chair and Secretary, the Sydney Chapter is delighted to confirm that:

  • David Spiteri has been elected as Sydney Chapter Chair;
  • Samiha Najem has been elected as Sydney Chapter Deputy Chair and
  • Stephen Poropat has been elected as Sydney Chapter Secretary

The Asset Management Council would like to extend its sincere thanks to David Wilkinson, outgoing Sydney Chapter Chair, for all his time and effort over the last two years. We also thank Richard Arthur, outgoing Deputy Chapter Chair, and Imtiaz Chowdhury, outgoing committee member. Samiha Najem has done a wonderful job as outgoing Secretary and will seamlessly flow into Deputy Chair position.

We also wish to acknowledge the appointment of the Tammy Falconer, Shane Day and Katrina Farah to the Sydney Chapter Committee. They join other standing committee members: Bhagya Shankar, Myles Gatherer and Klaus Herrmann. 

If you are wanting to get in touch with the Sydney chapter, please drop them a line to: 

Meet the new Sydney Chapter Chair

David Spiteri has held multiple Senior Management and Technical roles within TfNSW, RailCorp and predecessor companies. His current role is the Director of Asset Planning and Assurance in the Asset Management Branch of TfNSW.  He has a significant amount of Asset Management experience and his current role is to provide asset management services to TfNSW. The value of the TfNSW assets is greater than $168b. David is a previous recipient of the Public Service Medal and AM Council Leadership award. He was also the General Manager of the Asset Planning and Performance Division at RailCorp. This Division was responsible for a maintenance program valued at greater than $1b p.a. His Division developed the RailCorp Total Asset Management System. This was assessed at the time by the AM Council and given a “Gold” award for the system. David has Engineering and Business Qualifications.